What are different DNS records Print

  • 52

DNS records (aka zone files) are instructions that live in authoritative DNS servers and provide information about a domain including what IP address is associated with that domain and how to handle requests for that domain. These records consist of a series of text files written in what is known as DNS syntax. DNS syntax is just a string of characters used as commands which tell the DNS server what to do. All DNS records also have a ‘TTL’, which stands for time-to-live, and indicates how often a DNS server will refresh that record.

  • A record - The record that holds the IP address of a domain.
  • AAAA record is essentially the same as A record but for IPv6 addresses.
  • CNAME record - Forwards one domain or subdomain to another domain, does NOT provide an IP address.
  • MX record - Directs mail to an email server.
  • TXT record - Lets an admin store text notes in the record.
  • NS record - Stores the name server for a DNS entry.
  • SOA record - Stores admin information about a domain.
  • SRV record - Specifies a port for specific services.
  • PTR record - Provides a domain name in reverse-lookups.

THANK YOU........ :)

Was this answer helpful?

« Back